Gear

I’ve been reading a whole lot on lenses. I currently shoot with a Nikon D610, which I absolutely love. It works perfectly for the type of photography I do. My D610 is an upgrade from another nice camera, the Nikon D3200.

While owning my D3200 with kit lens I purchased two lenses. The Nikkor 35mm f1.8 DX and the 70-300mm f4.5-5.6 VR. Both have been wonderful lenses and have served their purposes well.

However, since moving to a FX camera my lens range has been off. I sold my DX kit lens with my D3200 and kept my 35mm DX and 70-300mm FX lenses. This leaves me with what in practice serves as a comparable 50mm 1.8 FX. It works but it’s not ideal.

This set up leaves me limited on the wide angle of the spectrum. Currently, I’m considering two new lenses. The venerable Nikkor 14-24mm f2.8 and the versatile Nikkor 16-35mm f4 VR. Here are the points I’m considering (no particular order of importance):

1. Astrophotography. I’ve really enjoyed taking pictures at night. There is a level of technical skill and natural science that attracts me. I feel connected to nature, history, and my craft in ways I don’t in other modalities. Also, the pictures look awesome.

2. Landscapes. I enjoy hiking and looking for light. There is nothing like walking into a masterpiece.

3. Adventure. I have two very active boys. They enjoy going to places that my camera doesn’t. Usually these places have a whole lot of dust, mud, and water.

4. Price. Did I say I have two boys? They eat like grown man. Which significantly limits the available funds I have to feed my non-monetary producing passion.

So I look at all of these points and jump into the www. It’s futile, the 14-24mm is what I want. The question is, am I willing to wait a several months to buy it or wait fewer months and have a good setup sooner.

Lord, give me patience.

Leave a Reply

